Wednesday, 17 July 2013

Bliestering speed in a heatwave

maurice tt
By MichelleTris
Thursday, July 18, 2013 - 21:15
MichelleTris's picture

It was a hot evening and the Redhill riders were on fire for another attack on the Horsham time trial course on Wednesday.


The twelfth edition of the 2013 series of events was blessed with a heatwave and very still conditions which gave many riders the chance to improve on their personal best’s.


In first place, Maurice Brennan ticked off a season goal and completed the 10miles in 20.57, just sneaking under 21mins and improving on his time by 7 seconds.


In Second, Brian Henessey also achieved his best ever result with a 22.19, and after managing his first sub 23 last week on the course with a 22.51, Jonny Bradbourne carried on the under-23 pattern to take third.


First (and only but with a very impressive time) lady was Rachel Baker from Crawley Wheelers with 23.40 – and it’s great to see another female out on the course. The spate of late-night-work-events seemingly over for now, the author hopes to join in next week, but doesn’t promise to set quite such a blistering pace.


First on the handicap was Matt Peel, managing to ramp up the pace to go 1min10 seconds faster than his last effort. Brian Henessey took a podium on handicap too, coming second with an 18 second improvement, and third most improved was Stuart Metcalfe.


Thanks again to John Eg for taking the time to set up the course – this week suffering fewer midge attacks we expect, and hopefully remembering his sun cream.


I would like to draw your attention to a fairly recent edition to the Time Trial newsharing portals of Redhill CC: We do now have an RCC TT google group. If you’re a tester who hasn’t yet joined, or are interested in hearing more about it – email mauricegb@gmail.comor geoffclifton@hotmail.comfor access.


The next club event will be same time, same place, on Wednesday. Everyone is welcome to join and we hope to see lots of riders there.


  1. Maurice Brennan – 20.57 (6thhandicap)
  2. Brian Henessey – 22.19 (2ndhandicap)
  3. Jonny Bradbourne – 22.53 (8thhandicap)
  4. Matt Peel – 23.09 (1stHandicap)
  5. Steve Bryant – 23.18 (4thhandicap)
  6. Nick Davey – 23.28 (7thhandicap)
  7. Leigh Smithers – 23.39
  8. Rachel Baker – 23.40 (Crawley Wheelers)
  9. Ade Baderd – 24.12
  10. Paul Headen – 24.42
  11. Matt Cope – 24.53
  12. Stuart Matcalfe – 26.15 (3rdhandicap)
  13. Rick Gregory – 27.24 (5thhandicap)
  14. Robert Stephenson – 29.05 (9thhandicap)